1 Year Later

It has been one year since I got my sacroiliac joint fusion surgery, so I thought it only fair to give you all an update. Here’s what has improved since I got my operation: NOTHING. This procedure did absolutely nothing to quell my discomfort. It didn’t even change my pain whatsoever. What it did do is give me a gnarly scar that is still sensitive to this day, and a new soreness when it’s super cold outside. I suffered a whole lot during this surgery, only to have it be a failure, which is extremely disappointing. I won’t say that it did nothing, because it did stabilize the joint, so I won’t have to worry about it in the future, however it didn’t do what we expected it to do, which was to at least minimize my pain.

Everything inside healed well, all looks good. My scar is still very pronounced and the skin around the area is still tender and tends to get a rash once in a while. The last time I got imaging done of the area was a few months ago when I fell and had to make sure that I didn’t fracture anything, and my implants were a-okay. However, I have not followed up with the surgeon who performed my operation since February because I feel like he didn’t do his due diligence in ruling out other possibilities, and there’s little to nothing that can be done to help me now. Plus, the service that I got at that office wasn’t great to begin with, but I figured he didn’t need to be a good guy, he just needed to be good at his job. Turns out he’s not very good at his job, after all — and that’s not just an opinion, it’s fact. When I followed up with my pain management doctor to see what options there are left for me, he was completely flabbergasted and saddened by the fact that my doctor skipped a lot of steps before jumping to this very serious surgery. The testing that could have been done before is no longer available because I got this procedure done, meaning that the problem will likely never get fixed. Let’s just say he wasn’t the only one horrified by this news.

Since this operation was a failure, I did not get physical therapy. I did exercises and rehab on my own, at my own pace. Healing was slow and tedious, especially without pain meds, but I got through it and I am very proud of what I was able to accomplish all by myself. Today, I am back to walking with the help of mobility aids, and I finally found a holistic supplement that helps dull the pain when it’s really bad. Just last month, I was finally able to take the last step in my process by being able to cross my legs again while sitting. I am officially back to where I was before surgery, which was my only goal after coming home and figuring out that the procedure was not successful in eliminating my issues.

Maybe one day I will find a doctor who can actually help me, but I’m not holding my breath. Unfortunately, I have had to content myself with the fact that this is my new normal. It sucks a whole lot, alas there’s nothing I can do about it. I just take things day by day and try to find little moments of joy. I’m not sure that I have hope for the future, per se. At this point, I think it’s more desperation for help, than anything. Sheer determination to live, even when it’s hard and ugly and painful. Honestly, some days, I don’t know how I do it, but I do. And, as we get through another holiday season, I will simply try to be grateful for what I do have. I wish you the same and more. Love you all,

Krystle

Leave a comment