Body in hyperdrive

It started with an accidental finding on a CT scan: a nodule on my left thyroid gland. I followed up with my PCP and got an ultrasound. Lo and behold, there’s more than one. So, I get a blood test done, however at this point, I’m sure it’s nothing — even though thyroid disorder runs in my family — because I’ve had this blood test multiple times before and everything looked fine. Plus, the symptoms that would be associated with thyroid disorder I’ve had for years, even when the tests were negative.

But I was wrong.

The results come back and I have hyperthyroidism. I’m not totally shocked, because like I said, it runs in my family, and I was sure I’d get it at some point, but… How could I not know that something was wrong? Well, because of my EDS and existing medical issues, when my symptoms were exacerbated, I simply wrote it off as things getting worse. It’s so easy to blame EDS or stress or something else when things are amiss in my body. After all, as a woman, I’ve been gaslighted my whole life by medical professionals, so it’s only natural to do it to myself, so that they don’t get the chance to. However, after those results, I spoke with my doctor and quickly realized that what I’ve been experiencing was not because of worsening problems, it was because hyperthyroidism was kicking everything up a notch.

With hyperthyroidism, it’s like my system is in hyperdrive. My heart races, my body shakes, I’m constantly hungry, I can’t sleep, my anxiety is at an all-time high, and so many other symptoms that I simply brushed off, but now understand are a problem. It just seems as if everything is on high alert and working way harder that it should.

So… Is this dangerous? It can be, if not treated. The symptoms caused by hyperthyroidism can cause serious problems if ignored. For example, my heart condition was worsened, which could potentially lead to a serious cardiac event unless I do something to prevent it now. In fact, that’s why I had the CT scan in the first place; because I was having palpitations, pain and dizziness, and they wanted to make sure that I didn’t have a blood clot (which I didn’t, thankfully). Now I have to take meds for my heart and will need to treat the thyroid disorder before it causes any further damage.

For my mom, the symptoms weren’t noticed, either, because she was an adolescent in puberty. Luckily for her, her science teacher noticed her bulging eyes and ran a blood pressure cuff on her in class, using her as an example because he wanted to confirm his suspicions. When the results showed that he was right, he told her to see a doctor and she did. Come to find out, her grandmother had it and, many years later, her mother also developed it.

And now I have it, too.

It’s not the end of the world, though. Not yet, anyway. They might test the nodules, but for now, I’ll likely start medication for this soon. I’m about to begin my heart regimen and then we’ll move forward with the rest. First things first. And, as always, I’ll keep you guys updated!

Leave a comment